Contact Your Legislator

OPLR Review

Sen. Curt Bramble, R-Provo, proposed legislation that would allow for two specific laser treatments, YAG-capsulotomy (YAG) and Selective Laser Trabeculectomy (SLT), to be performed on patents across Utah. 

The Utah Office of Professional Licensure Review (OPLR) recently completed a comprehensive study on the matter concluding that not only are these lasers safe in the hands of optometrists but they are needed due to the lack of providers in rural Utah.  The study also found these laser procedures to be extremely safe when performed by optometrists nationwide with a near-zero incident rate on 195K completed procedures. 

Please Contact your Legislator

Please contact your senator and ask for a time to discuss our bill. You do not need to go to the Capital for this discussion; a phone or Zoom call is sufficient. Many senators do not know how extensive our training and education are.  Please set up these conversations now! Let them know you are their constituent and would like to discuss SB 210. Below are links to every Senator's contact page. Also here is an interactive map that you can click on your home and practice location and it will show who your senator is for that location.

Scott Sandall (Brigham City/Tremonton/Wendover)

Chris Wilson (Logan/North Logan/Smithfield/Bear Lake) 

John Johnson (North Ogden/Huntsville,Morgan, Coalville)

David Buxton (Roy/Clinton/Farr West/ Plain City) 

Ann Millner (Ogden/South Ogden/Mountain Green)

Jerry Stevenson (Clearfield/Syracuse/West Layton)

Stuart Adams (Layton/Kaysville/Farmington/Centerville)

Todd Weiler (Bountiful/West Bountiful/North Salt Lake)

Dr. Jen Plumb (East Salt Lake/Sugar House/South Salt Lake/Downtown) 

Luz Escamilla (Rose Park/Glendale/West Valley) 

Daniel Thatcher (Tooele/Stansbury/Cedar Fort)

Karen Kwan (Kearns/West Valley)

Nate Blouin (South Salt Lake/Sugar House/Murray)

Stephanie Pitcher (Millcreek/Holladay/Murray)

Kathleen Riebe (Cottonwood Heights/Midvale)

Wayne Harper (Taylorsville/West Jordan)

Lincoln Fillmore (South Jordan/Herriman)

Daniel McCay (Riverton/Herriman/Bluffdale)

Kirk Cullimore (Sandy/Draper)

Ronald Winterton (Park City/Heber/Duchesne/Vernal)

Dr. Mike Kennedy (Alpine/Highland/American Fork) 

Heidi Balderree (Lehi/Saratoga Springs/Cedar Mountain)

Keith Grover (Orem/Vineyard/Pleasant Grove/ Lindon)

Curtis Bramble (Orem/Provo) Our Senate Sponsor

Michael McKell (Spanish Fork/Salem/Payson)

David Hinkins (Springville/Mapleton/Price/Moab/Blanding)

Derrin Owens (Nephi/Richfield/Manti)

Evan Vickers (Cedar City/Hurricane/Washington/Beaver)

Don Ipson (St. George/Bloomington/Santa Clara/Enterprise)

© 2024 Utah Optometric Association

Website powered by MemberLeap

P.O. Box 862
Draper UT 84020

Ph. 801-364-9103